The new course’s name, The Ashford Short Course, pays tribute to the rich history at The Greenbrier and remembers a unique moment in The Greenbrier’s more than 240-year past.
In 1942, the historic resort was sold to the United States Army, and it became a hospital for sick and wounded soldiers during World War II. Named for Army physician Col. Bailey K. Ashford, Ashford General Hospital treated more than 25,000 soldiers from 1942 through 1946. It employed 45 doctors, 100 nurses, and 500 enlisted men, along with hundreds of volunteers. The recovering servicemen benefited by using The Greenbrier’s immaculate facilities – including the pool, the golf courses, and the tennis courts – during their recovery.
Set in the valley floor with breathtaking views of the surrounding mountains, the course is accompanied by seven new homesites for members of The Greenbrier Sporting Club.